The Radharc Awards 2021


Following the deferment of the 2020 Radharc Awards due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, the Radharc Trust was pleased to proceed with ceremonies for the Radharc Awards on Thursday 21 October 2021.

Awards were presented by Prof Brian Mac Craith, Chair of the Future of Media Commission, who acknowledged the unique contribution of Radharc to Irish broadcasting history and further noted the challenge of preserving Irish public service broadcasting programming in a globalised media environment in his keynote speech.

Awards were presented in Two Categories:


The Radharc Trophy for TV documentary was awarded to AN BHEARNA BHAOIL, produced by Midas Productions for TG4. Producer Medb Johnstone collected the Award.

A Certificate of High Commendation for TV Documentary was presented to Sally Roden on behalf of LAURA BRENNAN: THIS IS ME.

The Certificate of Commendation for TV Documentary, was received by Alan Gilsensan for DANIEL O’CONNELL, FORGOTTEN KING OF IRELAND.


The Radharc Trophy for Category Two, for documentary produced for digital distribution, was awarded to ENDLESS SUNSHINE ON A CLOUDY DAY produced by Cluster Fox Films by Tiernan Williams.

A Certificate of High Commendation in WEB Documentary, was presented to Derek Nagle on behalf of THE CORK NATIVITY.

The Certificate of Commendation in Category One, TV Documentary, was awarded to Nino Tropiano for NDOTO YA SAMIRA (SAMIRA’S DREAM).

Gallery of 2021 Finalists HERE

This event was co-sponsored by: The Broadcasting Authority of Ireland, RTÉ, TG4, Fís Éireann and Screenscene.